Ketching Up With Kiki











{March 20, 2010}   Age and Maturity

I have discovered in the past few days a fact I often forget. Age and Maturity do not coincide. I for example am a 21 year old female and in most cases more mature than a lot of other women my age.

Numerous situations have occurred recently that make me question humanity in general. The worst by far occurred at 2:45 this morning.

I had experienced a very nice evening hanging out with the boyfriend and some other friends on the back deck of my boyfriends frat house. A few people went to bed, others went to the bar while boyfriend and I along with 2 other friends watched a hilarious movie.

I was just falling asleep about the time the President of the fraternity comes barreling through the hallways yelling and banging on doors telling everyone to get up. My first thought, great who got in a fight. Boyfriend runs downstairs then returns 5 minutes later informing me that all the cars in the driveway had their tires sliced on the sidewalls. Ruined.

These people also stole some priceless fraternity paraphernalia, but left an iPod, laptop, and PS2 alone. Obviously to all of us at least this was another fraternity. I understand to an extent the paraphernalia, but tires.

These idiots did over $600 worth of damage on just boyfriends truck. All together they sliced 6 cars tires. Boyfriend and an Alum had all 4 tires cut while 3 guys had 2 tires cut and one lone wolf only had one tire sliced.

The other guys with the exception of boyfriend and alum all went out and bought new tires. Obviously boyfriend cannot afford $600 worth of new tires and will be patiently waiting for an insurance adjuster to come out and check the damage. Thankfully he does have full coverage which includes comprehensive; therefore, vandalism is covered.

A police report was also filed and I hope the perpetrators are caught soon. They will pay for their crimes especially since all the damage they did accounts for felony charges.

I am flustered and running on less than 3 hours of sleep in almost 48 hours. Sadly I am now paranoid and don’t believe I will sleep much tonight. I will be in church tomorrow praying for whoever committed these crimes and for those affected.

Is Jack your only dog? I have a Siberian Husky so when Jackal was growing up he had a constant playmate. I also walked them every day and spent a lot of time clicker training. I think all of the exercise and mental stimulation combined kept him tired. I also didn’t leave his toys out 24/7. I left his bones out (real bones and marrow bones – no rawhide) always so he had an outlet while teething, but his other toys were kept picked unless I was there to supervise. He’s two years old now and I only started leaving his rope toy out a couple of months ago. He’s done a little bit of damage to it, but he hasn’t destroyed it. He does still kill stuffed animals, but the husky taught him that lol. Have you gotten him a Kong? Those are indestructible if you can convince him to chew on it. They are hollow on the inside so you can put peanut butter or something else inside of it. Good luck with him!



Hmm interesting. He’ll probably grow out of it. Be glad it’s his toys he destroying and not your furniture!! 🙂 It sounds like you’re doing great with him.

Actually my vet told me a cheap method of cleaning out the ears because Jackal recently had a really bad yeast/bacterial infection in his ears. I don’t remember how to make it, so I’ll give him a call tomorrow and find out what it was. It’s so much cheaper than buying ear cleaners. I’ll let you know as soon as I get hold of him.



Sorry I forgot to call my vet yesterday. He says to use a mix of one part vinegar to about 3 or 4 parts water and to use it weekly on the ears. Once they are clean and looking good you don’t have to do it as often. This is so much cheaper than buying the ear medicines. I hope it helps Jack. 🙂

P.S. The easiest way to get it in the ear is to use a bulb syringe and squeeze the solution into his ear gently. Don’t squeeze too hard or you might hurt him. It also helps if the solution is room temperature. Don’t know if you’ve ever had anything cold in your ears but it makes you dizzy. 🙂 Also do it outside because he will shake his head which is good because that’s what cleans his ears. Good luck!!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
