Ketching Up With Kiki











{March 7, 2010}   Tears

I sit here tonight weeping for my younger sister. She at 18 became involved with a 22 year old male. This man Adam* met my sister *Betsy at a dorm party a few weeks after my sister moved to college.

He did not speak to her for a month afterwards then randomly calls her questioning why she had not called him. This for me was not the first red flag. He had shown interest before and I know how many 22 year old single guys can be.

Adam and Betsy eventually began dating and things became intimate which was a first for Betsy. Great.

Let me back up for a quick minute. Not only is Adam 22 he did not attend college and aspires to be a NASCAR driver. He has told my sister many a story which she relayed back to me and my parents. Not a single one of these stories added up. At one time he is claiming to have tons of money and a few days later has no money.

Over Christmas Break he came and stayed for the weekend. I was thrilled. First of all he is the rudest, most unintelligent person I have ever met. When he speaks I feel like daggars are shooting through my brain. He talks to my sister like she is trash. At one point she asked about a TV show he rudely interrupted her and told her that it was just for entertainment not to be questioned.

I could go on and on with examples f how he talks down to her and is always too tired or too stressed out to talk about important things or how he plays pool for 8 hours at a time then expects my sister to come over and stay with him at 2am.

I had a sneaky suspicion that Betsy was in an emotionally abusive relationship due to factors above and so many other things she has told me.

Tonight my suspicion was confirmed when I discovered a list of tell-tale signs someone is in an emotionally abusive relationship. Out of 20 questions I know for a fact Betsy experiences at least 12 of them 3 of those being at the top of the list.

Since she refuses to listen to those who truly care about her I ask that you all pray that she will see the light and realize she can do so much better.

I am genuinely worried for her safety as I have seen his temper and would not put it past him to begin physically abusing her.

God is in control. He has a plan. All I can do is continue to pray.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
